From Sam Pudlat school to St Martins school

This a map  is part of Canada the two pins represent Peterborough and Cape Dorset. Yikes who knew Quebec went all that way north.

This a map is part of Canada the two pins represent Peterborough and Cape Dorset. Yikes who knew Quebec went all that way north.

All children learn and know both language's  reading and writing both . This is my clinic door.

All children learn and know both language’s reading and writing both . This is my clinic door.

A typical class room that you would see anywhere else in Canada.

A typical class room that you would see anywhere else in Canada.

Art and history are prominent through out the school

Art and history are prominent through out the school

185A8507

Shoes are or boots are taken off before entering the school and indoor shoes only are allowed, and that goes for me too.

Shoes are or boots are taken off before entering the school and indoor shoes only are allowed, and that goes for me too.

Some parts of the school need a bit of maintenance. The out side takes a lot of harsh weather like we never see, but the inside is is immaculate.

Some parts of the school need a bit of maintenance. The out side takes a lot of harsh weather like we never see, but the inside is is immaculate.

It was warmer today but two days ago it was -28 and  the young kids such as your selves came out had recess go home for lunch and back again. No worries, Dress warm and carry on.

It was warmer today but two days ago it was -28 and the young kids such as your selves came out had recess go home for lunch and back again. No worries, Dress warm and carry on.

Check out the name and they have a website you can go to.

Check out the name and they have a website you can go to.

This is for my buddies  at St Martins  in Ennismore and Mrs. Loundsbury and the Peach of course and her little mates. This is the school in which I am working from in a small dental office.

This is for my buddies at St Martins in Ennismore and Mrs. Loundsbury and the Peach of course and her little mates. This is the school in which I am working from in a small dental office.

The reason why this is the nicest hotel in all of U=Nunivut is because Cape Dorset is world renown for its carvers of stone. The carvers here are the best of the north and sell their art internationally and collectors from around the world come and stay to meet a see the artists at  work and order commissioned pieces.

The reason why this is the nicest hotel in all of U=Nunivut is because Cape Dorset is world renown for its carvers of stone. The carvers here are the best of the north and sell their art internationally and collectors from around the world come and stay to meet a see the artists at work and order commissioned pieces.

This is the hotel where I am staying. It is in two parts, and I am in the building in the fore ground and the part behind has rooms and a restaurant  where I had a caribou dinner on my night of arrival. It is the nicest hotel in all of Nunavut .

This is the hotel where I am staying. It is in two parts, and I am in the building in the fore ground and the part behind has rooms and a restaurant where I had a caribou dinner on my night of arrival. It is the nicest hotel in all of Nunavut .

As requested by you St Martians or St Martinites,(just Kidding) I took a shot of these huskies  for you they staying warm curled up.They are on a chain and are separated from contact  from each other so they don't fight and nobody gets hurt. They live out side all year and are fed seal meat. I haven't been by dureing the feeding but I have seen the ravens bouncing about getting the scraps. Ravens are like our crow bit half the size bigger with a gentle voice.

As requested by you St Martians or St Martinites,(just Kidding) I took a shot of these huskies for you they staying warm curled up.They are on a chain and are separated from contact from each other so they don’t fight and nobody gets hurt. They live out side all year and are fed seal meat. I haven’t been by dureing the feeding but I have seen the ravens bouncing about getting the scraps. Ravens are like our crow bit half the size bigger with a gentle voice.

The papuse  grandmother again. Some one check that spelling, it likely isn't right.

The papuse grandmother again. Some one check that spelling, it likely isn’t right.

I am amazed by this. Only because it is so foreign to me. There are two  skins drying on racks in town that I know of and they were a danger to the children and adults. It is the way.

I am amazed by this. Only because it is so foreign to me. There are two skins drying on racks in town that I know of and they were a danger to the children and adults. It is the way.

This woman and I walked a short distance together toward down town , she had an infant on her back in a papuse.

This woman and I walked a short distance together toward down town , she had an infant on her back in a papuse.

A small showing of northern lights on the 26th of March

A small showing of northern lights on the 26th of March

Part of town when I got home from work from the hotel.

Part of town when I got home from work from the hotel.

185A8483

10 thoughts on “From Sam Pudlat school to St Martins school

  1. Awesome pix Wayne. Did you connect with any of the media before going? There may be an opp to submit stories or be interviewed when you return.

    Like

      • Is that something you’re interested in while you’re up there, or do you have enough to do. Just thought maybe TV could skype or one of the print media might like some pix and a story. If you’re interested, I could make some inquiries on your behalf.

        Like

  2. Skype isn’t working for my and I am at the clinic 12-13 hours a day and a half hour walk, up hill only one way fortunately . I am not all that comfy in front of the media, a story at best. But not in the next couple of weeks thanks.

    Like

    • Sure Wayne, whatever you’re comfortable and have time with. Perhaps when you come back, someone could do an interview, or maybe you could share your experience with my Rotary Club. We’re always looking for interesting stories. In any case, have fun.

      Like

  3. Hi Wayne! Thank you so much for all the pictures of the school inside and out. There were many similarities and differences between there school and ours. We thought it was pretty neat how they kept their school floors so clean. We are going to try and keep our floors that clean:) A difference that we noticed about the school is how they had all art and history decorating their walls and we didn’t see any student work pieces.
    The huskies were sooooooo cute! The students want to pet them and cuddle them! Are the huskies nice and do you know their names?
    The grade 2/3’s are wondering what the inside of your office and hotel looks like. They were wondering if you could please send pics?
    We hope you are enjoying your time there and are loving the pictures and following you.

    Thanks so much,
    Love, Mrs. Lounsbury’s Grade 2/3’s
    P.S. You looked very COLD in your selfie pic! lol

    Like

    • Hi Mrs. Lounsbury and gang
      I’m glad you are enjoying the pics. The schools are very similar and so is what they learn.They do have student art on the walls and local artists work as well, but they are very proud of their heritage. I dont’ know the huskies name but maybe you can give them names of your choice. I will get some shots of my office and hotel for you. It is a very nice hotel best in all of Nunavut because a lot of dignitaries and art collectors from around the world come her because of the arts that are produce in Cape Dorset which gives it international recognition.
      Have a good day guys!

      Like

    • Hi Lindsay
      Next stop is Iqualuit for the night, Then to Kimmirit where I will be working in a medical building but will shoot the school from out side when I get a chance.

      Like

  4. Mrs. Peachey (aka the Peach): We really loved looking at your pictures Wayne! Especially the ones of the school. We did not know that the huskies have to be separated so they won’t fight each other and that they have to sleep outside! We were amazed by the drying bear skin as well. The students were wondering if it’s always windy as well as cold. We also wondered if you have seen any wolves yet. Take care and thanks for posting these great pictures! Mrs. Peachey and the Grade 2 Students

    Like

    • Hi Mrs. Peachey and Gang
      I’m glad you are enjoying the pics. I was wrong about the husky” , they can reach each other on the chain as they were playing today, I thought that due to an article I read. There has been very little wind since I have arrived just sunny and cold. The huskies curl up in a ball when the sun is down to stay warm. And no wolves in town. There are three bear hides in town and they were hunted and the fur will go to auction, similarly as we have at home with the hunters and trappers. Only a few tags are given out for each community to hunt
      the bears.
      Have a good day guys!

      Like

Leave a comment